Grow fruit from seed

Have you ever stopped to think how things grow? The reason I ask the question was because I was in the fruit and vegetable aisle supermarket with my 4 year old, looking at the huge array on offer. I was showing him the different types of fruit and explaining what grows on tress and on the ground. It almost felt abstract, theoretical even. We become so sanitised to the convenience of our supermarkets that I wonder if we have become disconnected to nature. What would a 4 year old make of the meat aisle, with all the pink cuts in plastic. How would he ever connect that to an animal? The same with fruit and veg.

So we decided to do an experiment. We’d pick some fruit and plant them and see what happens. 4 year old picked a satsuma, lemon and an avocado (and before you argue it is a fruit).

Gathering soil from our compost into little pots we plunged the satsuma seeds into one pot and the lemon seeds into another. Popped them into a clear, plastic bag and put on to a sunny window-sill. For some reason, unbenownst to me, I thought I’d look up how to grow an avocado from seed. I’m glad I did. It’s not as simple as putting into soil. You grow avocados by perching it above water, with the aid of toothpicks balancing on a jar.

The seed is called a Pit

The jar went on to the window-sill and I’ll let you know the progress on the Facebook page.

The future perfect of my avocado pit?

By sheer coincidence, I was watching the movie Red this week, and look what is on Bruce Willis’ table!

It's the thing on the right

It’s the thing on the right

Two facts you didn’t know about avocados (well, I didn’t)

1) They contain more fat than any other fruit or vegetable (but GOOD fat!)

2) In the Bahamas they are called pears

Contained within this link are three healthy facts about avocados

Go on, plant some fruit seeds and get back to nature! Post your photos and comments to the Wobble a Jelly Facebook page.

Remember, you can tweet me suggestions @jelly_wobbler

Categories: fruit, growing, horticulture, nature, planting | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

