Draw with both hands at the same time

This great suggestion came from Carolyn Black @FlowContempArts after reading my first blog about writing with my wrong hand.

I’m not a great drawer. In fact, my four year old’s drawing are my artistic than mine. So imagine what I thought a drawing with my wrong hand would look like! So I decided to keep it simple. I went for an image with curved lines with my stronger left hand and an image with straight lines for my weaker right hand – in an effort to really make my brain think differently, as my initial thoughts were that one hand would try to copy the other. I tried to maintain this thought throughout the exercise, so when my left hand was drawing a horizontal line, my right would do a vertical.

Drawing with both hands at the same time

Before you ask, my wife took this picture.

It was incredibly difficult to make sure both were what I wanted them to look like. My eyes were flitting across to each drawing. However, it was the right hand (weaker) drawing that suffered. The picture with my right hand was wobbly and skewed, whereas the left looked confident and assured. The pencil lines were harder, darker, dominant.

Image

Drawing with weaker right hand at top, drawing with strong left hand at the bottom (Van Gogh can rest easy)

To test what effect drawing with both hands at the same time had on my right hand, I decided to draw the same picture again, only using my weaker right hand, but this time without a distraction. As you can see from the below image it is much more stable, larger and defined.

Image

Comparing drawings made with my right hand (top one when I was drawing with my left hand at the same time, bottom one focusing only on my right hand)

Go on, try it yourself! Post your photos and comments to the Wobble a Jelly Facebook page.

Remember, you can tweet me suggestions @jelly_wobbler

Categories: Art, Draw, Drawing | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

