Memorise the 7 Wonders of the Ancient World

When this one was suggested to me by a friend, I thought that this wasn’t really on brief. It wasn’t until I thought about it that I realised that I could only name 3 from memory, and that it would be good for my neurological skills to remember the most important man-made monuments in ancient history – rather than Google or Wikipedia it to commit to short-term memory.

The three that I knew were:

  1. Obviously the Pyramids at Giza
  2. The Lighthouse at Alexandra
  3. The Hanging Gardens of Babylon (and only through Fawlty Towers)

The other 4 are:

  1. Statue of Zeus
  2. Temple of Artemis
  3. Mausoleum at Halicarnassus
  4. Colossus of Rhodes

I’m not very good at remembering things. In fact I am worst at names and faces (so glad men have the catch-all “mate”). There are various techniques at remembering things. At school I used mnemonics a lot in the run up to exams. So here goes, in the above order:

P – Please
L – Let
H – Harry
S – Scare
T – The
M – Massive
C – Cat

I like that. It works for me. Mnemonics work differently for different people. Difficult to show on a blog but I have repeated that several times and I think I’ve got it. I’ve also spent a bit of time reading into each one. I won’t put in links as there are hundreds of sites you can research. Here are three interesting things I didn’t know relating to the wonders before I started this task:

  • The Mausoleum of Halicarnassus was built for a King called Mausolus. It is because of this wonder that we name any grand tomb a mausoleum.
  • The Hanging Gardens of Babylon have never been found, and it is doubted that they even existed.
  • No-one really knows who decided on the final list, although Greek historian Herodotus started it

Here’s an interesting map of where the 7 wonders were located (courtesy of http://dogfoose.com/2010/02/7-wonders/)

“7 Wonders of the Ancient World map | Dogfoose.com (Michael Kline)”

Map of where the 7 wonders of the ancient World were located

Categories: history, Mnemonic, wonders of the world | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

